Oprah and Me

Rachel Steinman
6 min readMay 5, 2020

and Robert Kolker

Oprah’s Book Club on Facebook

Anyone who knows me knows Oprah has been my Queen for over three decades! She first opened my (and soon the world’s) eyes to understanding everyone has a story worth telling back in 1986. Oprah Winfrey, a little black girl with big dreams-turned self-made powerhouse against all odds, showed me (us) how everyone wants and deserves to have a voice and to find meaning in their life.

The Oprah Show was the backdrop of my teens, twenties, and thirties, first watched live or recorded on VHS and later Tivoed or DVR’d. For all 25 seasons, as I left high school and a family I wanted to run from, went to college, to graduate school, into the teaching world, through heartbreak, through new love and marriage, and then through kids, Oprah was the sage advisor I looked to.

Millions upon millions of peoples’ hearts and minds were opened as we listened to Oprah’s celebrity interviews and, in my opinion, more importantly, everyday peoples’ stories we never would have known. Vulnerability was no longer a bad word as we came to understand by telling our honest truth and listening to others we were connecting and finding compassion.

We joined as Oprah shed sad tears about violence, sexual abuse, and difficult subjects. We joined in her celebrations and rejoiced with happy tears as she modeled the value in love and generosity. Festive holiday…

--

--

Rachel Steinman

Host of “Dear Family,” the Podcast, Writer, Educator, and Mental Health Advocate https://writenowrachel.com/